Alexander Paley

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791)

Fantasie in D minor KV 397

Wolfgang Amadeus MLudwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827)

Piano Sonata in C Major, op. 53 “Waldstein”

Allegro con brio

Introduzione - Adagio molto

Rondo - Allegretto moderato

Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897)

Variations on a Theme by Paganini, Op. 35

Buch 1


Variations 1 - 14

Buch 2


Variations 1 - 14

Hans Christian Bartel (*1932)

David and Goliath

Playing Time 76:33

BLT-AP10015 Blüthner World


Concert Hall: Reception Hall of Julius Blüthner Pianofortefabrik GmbH

Alexander Paley, born in Moldavia in 1956, brings to these varied works a calm and even-tempered approach. Although there are certainly virtuoso episodes, Paley does not use this opportunity to show off. These are inner-directed and contemplative performances. The centerpiece of this recital is Brahms' Paganini Variations, Op. 35. Based upon the famous A minor Caprice, Brahms' kaleidoscopic explorations are revealed with intimacy and emotion in Paley's interpretation. An added bonus is the extremely popular encore piece, David and Goliath, by Hans Christian Bartel.


Alexander Paley