Hommage à Debussy

Works for Piano CD IV

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)

Julia Dahlkvist, Piano

Childrens Corner (1906 - 1908)

01. Doctor gradus ad parnassum

02. Jumbo's lullaby

03. Serenade for the doll

04. The snow is dancing

05. The little shepherd

06. Golliwog's cake-walk

07. Hommage à Haydn (1909)

08. Le petit nègre (1909)

09. Berceuse héroïque (1914)

10. Élégie (1915)

11. Pièce sans titre

Études Série I (1915, publ. 1916)

12. Pour les cinq doigts

13. Pour les tierces

14. Pour les quartes

15. Pour les sixtes

16. Pour les octaves

17. Pour les huits doigts

Études Série II (1915, publ. 1916)

18. Pour les degrés chromatiques

19. Pour les agréments

20. Pour les notes répétés

21. Pour les sonorités opposées

22. Pour les arpèges composés

23. Pour les accords

Playing Time 76:23

GENUIN 12229

Link to order cd, download and listen on Amazon

Link to order cd on ArkivMusic

Link to the website of Pianist Julia Dahlkvist

Recorded on a Blüthner Model 1 Concert Grand

The young, talented Finnish-Russian pianist Julia Dahlkvist has provided the finale in the four-part Blüthner-Debussy cycle on GENUIN. And she shows that etudes certainly do not have to be dull, nor do children's pieces have to be only for young people. From the slightly elegiac, finely satirical tones of Doctor gradus ad parnassum (Children's Corner) to the ecstatic chord sequences of the last Etudes, she works out the infinitely detailed richness of Debussy's piano works with superior technique and audible joy in the tone colours. This is Monet for the ears…

Hommage a Debussy

Hommage à Debussy - Special Edition

Works for Piano

Juliana Steinbach, Piano

Amir Tebenikhin, Piano

Chenyin Li, Piano

Julia Dahlkvist, Piano

This special edition 4 CD Boxed Set is available directly from GENUIN and Blüthner. Includes CD listed above.

GENUIN 4 CD Boxed Set

Blüthner World

Claude Debussy played his beloved Blüthner grand piano throughout his life. This was the occasion for the Leipzig piano manufacturer Blüthner to dedicate a 4-CD cycle to the French impressionist composer. For this, he invited four promising pianists to record nearly the complete piano works of Debussy. Blüthner used for the recordings a grand piano very close in sound to the Debussy Blüthner grand. Thus this 4-CD box not only demonstrates the variety and finesse of Debussy's piano music, but also the sonic ideal of the great French impressionist. A must for Debussy lovers!


Hommage a Debussy