Louisiana - A Pianist's Journey

Kenneth Boulton

Disc One

Walter Niemann: Louisiana Suite, Op. 97

1. The Mississippi Steam-boat's in Sight

2. My Old Kentucky Home

3. The Interrupted Serenade

4. Longing for Home

5. Carnival in New Orleans

6. Roy Spaulding Stoughton: Louisiana Nights, Valse Creole*

John Parsons Beach: New Orleans Miniatures*

7. Esplanade (Promenade)

8. In an Ursuline Court (Cloud-reverie)

9. Balcony Lyric

10. Place d'Orleans (St. Louis Cathedral)

11. Masques (Mardi Gras)

12. Envoi

Ferde Grofé: Mississippi Suite*

13. Father of Waters

14. Huckleberry Finn

15. Old Creole Days

16. Mardi Gras

Playing Time 51:05

Disc Two

1. Louis Moreau Gottschalk: La Savane, Ballade Creole, Op. 3

Cedric Wilmont Lemont: Creole Sketches, Op. 15*

2. A Creole Croon

3. Magnolia Bloom

4. Cotton Pickers

5. A Drowsy Afternoon

6. In Olden Days (Menuet romantique)

7. Memories

8. Banjo Dance

9. On the Levee

10. In Carnival Time

11. Albert W. Ketelbey: Sweet Louisiana*

Virgil Thomson, trans. Andor Foldes:

Suite from Louisiana Story - Three Pieces for Piano

12. Bayou Pastorale

13. Scherzo with Chorale

14. The Squeeze-box

Playing Time 54:15

*World Premiere Recording

CD 1171 (2 CD Set)

Link to order cd on Cambria Master Recordings

Link to order on ArkivMusic

Recorded at Skywalker Sound on a Blüthner Model 1 Concert Grand

This recording features Kenneth Boulton performing an engaging variety of solo classical piano music inspired by inimitable Louisiana and New Orleans culture. Mr. Boulton received a 50th Annual Grammy® Awards Nomination for best instrumental soloist performer (without orchestra). The producers of this recording, Marina and Victor Ledin, also received a nomination for Producer of the Year, Classical for this and three other recordings.

The diversity of the compositions offers a rich, yet largely unexplored body of piano music written between 1847 and 1949.

Kenneth Boulton, professor of piano at Southeastern Louisiana University, has made American music his specialty. His seven previously released recordings have all enjoyed great critical acclaim.


Kenneth Boulton